FUTA Overview

Alumni Give Scholarship to Selected Students

The Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Akure, Professor Joseph Fuwape has encouraged students of the university not to allow their background debar their success in life. He stated this while speaking at the presentation of FUTA Alumni scholarship award to some selected indigent students of the institution. Fuwape encouraged the recipients to see beyond their current situation or challenges, but be focused in their studies and make the best out of it. He said “don’t let your background put your back to the ground”.  Professor Fuwape commended the gesture of the alumni of the University for remembering the indigent students and showing love in this harsh economy. According to him, some students are financially handicapped and may be finding things difficult. Such students need help and assistance and God always makes way for them through this type of intervention. He encouraged students to endeavour to learn skills that can add value to their lives in this age when jobs are not easy to come by. He said such skills may earn them a living in the future. He promised that the University will continue to encourage such support from its alumni. The Vice Chancellor also admonished the recipients of the scholarship to make judicious use of the money and give their studies utmost seriousness so as to become great in the future. Fuwape commended the donors, Mr. and Dr. (Mrs.) Ademola Oladele for offering monthly financial support to ten students and Class of 2009 Alumni who gave indigent scholarship to eight students and admonished the Student Affairs Unit to be closer to the students. 

The duo of the Registrar, Mr. Richard Arifalo and the Dean of Students, Professor Gbenga Onibi congratulated the recipients and admonished them to use the award judiciously.

Responding on behalf of other recipients, Alasi Esther Aanuoluwapo of the Department of Food Science Technology (FST) appreciated the donors and the University Management and promised that the students would live up to expectation.  She said it is a great privilege to be singled out for this kind of reward.


The scholarship, which is in two categories, has the underlisted recipients.


1.       Akinwumi, Ishola Abeeb   
2.       Ogunsakin, Samuel O.            
3.       Alasi, Esther Aanuoluwapo
4.       Ajewole, D. Sunkanmi
5.       Arije Moses
6.       Omole, Temitope O.
7.       Agboola Taiwo
8.       Onifade, Temide O.  
9.       Afuye, Oluwatosin J.
10.   Adeyemo, H. T. 



1.       Oyeyinka Dolapo A. 
2.       Akinbami, S. O.    
3.       Orioye, Faruq Morenikeji 
4.       Okeshipe, Gospel Ruth 
5.       Adetunji, Oluwaseun O. 
6.       Ayodeji, Temidayo Maxwell  
7.       Okegbemi, L. Boluwatife    
8.       Idowu, Peter F.